Ed Parnell's Cunning Plan

I been here and there with receding hair…

Stalking the Dragon: A Skyrim Journal | GameLife | Wired.com

leave a comment »

NEW YORK — Undead warriors and one nasty dragon highlighted my first adventures through the role-playing game The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim, which will be out November 11 for PC, Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3.

The game’s publisher Bethesda showed it off at a press event in Manhattan last week, where the media in attendance were given three hours to explore, quest and indiscriminately slaughter civilians in the world of Skyrim. Naturally, I did all of the above.

Here’s a journal of my three-hour tour.

1:15 PM – It begins. I’m in a cave, naked and alone. The Bethesda rep tells me that we’re about 30 minutes into the game; they skipped past the intro because they don’t want to spoil any plot points. They don’t realize that the only plot point I care about is murdering townspeople.

1:16 PM – I choose to play as a Nord, mostly because I am terrified of creatures that don’t look like me. There are no classes or other specializations to pick, so I can only identify as a Nord. A naked Nord.

1:20 PM – I exit the cave and wander around Skyrim’s frosty tundra, breathing in the gorgeous pinewood forests and snow-covered mountains. I use my fists to take out a small rodent. I am a living god.

1:27 PM – While strolling along a road in the tundra, I run into a friendly hunter. My first thought is that facial animations look much better in Skyrim than they did in Oblivion. My second thought is that I should steal his horse.

Continued at Stalking the Dragon: A Skyrim Journal | GameLife | Wired.com.

Written by edparnell

November 15, 2011 at 5:48 am

Posted in Games

Leave a Reply

