Ed Parnell's Cunning Plan

I been here and there with receding hair…

Google Wages War With Apple And The Rest Of The Tablet Industry, Unleashes Impressive Nexus 7 +Mobile | TechCrunch

leave a comment »

In July, after the Google I/O developer event, I reviewed the newly unveiled Nexus 7 tablet after using it for a bit. Most people fired off snap reactions about their thoughts, but I decided to put it through its paces, and I’m glad that I did. Another guy who took some time to sort out his thoughts was our very own MG Siegler.

I also wrote a review about the Nexus 10 recently, the larger model of Google’s tablet line. In that review, I pointed out that Android’s operating system is, in my opinion, better suited for the tablet experience versus that of what you’ll find on a phone with it installed. That’s why I was looking forward to the updated Nexus 7 line, which include mobile capabilities, something both tablets had been lacking. WiFi only is limiting, and I don’t want to have to tether.

I’ve always been averse to using the phrase and concept of “war” when it comes to technology companies, usually because it’s way overused. I even chided my now-colleague Josh Constine for doing this. I’m eating crow, because with the release of the mobile version of the Nexus 7, this is war.

via Google Wages War With Apple And The Rest Of The Tablet Industry, Unleashes Impressive Nexus 7 +Mobile | TechCrunch.

Written by edparnell

November 13, 2012 at 11:11 pm

Posted in Products, Tech

Leave a Reply

